Dinner and a Mess…or two.

Posted on

I am NOT a “Suzy Homemaker”. I work a full time job. I despise doing dishes. I hate folding laundry. I have never used a vacuum in my life (except for a shop-vac). I’m a very lazy cook.

But tonight, I feel very accomplished…sort of. The boyfriend has been nocturnal this week as he readies one of the Explorers for our cross-country trek this upcoming 2 weeks (!!!), so I told him that I would do the long neglected dishes from the past few days, my treat. Usually our routine is that I cook, he does the dishes a few days later after I’ve complained. Anyway, when I got home from work, I was still bouncing ideas around my head for what to make for dinner and whether to go head and make tomorrow night’s dinner as well since the ground turkey had been in the fridge for 5 days. I also had half a loaf of french bread going very stale on the counter.

Well, I talked myself into being productive! Tonight’s dinner would have taken a whopping 45 minutes to prepare if that long: bread crumb coated fried pork chops with mac-n-cheese. Guess what homemade fans: the breadcrumbs came from the store pre-seasoned! And the mac-n-cheese? Kraft. Hey, I work! At least I started with raw pork chops and breaded them myself.

Meanwhile I browned the ground turkey and tossed it into a casserole dish to await some cooked rotini and a jar of good ol’ Ragu Traditional (the boyfriend’s favorite, though he did accept some Ragu “Chunky Super Vegegetable Primavera” without complaint a couple weeks ago).

In my spare time I chunked up the french bread (and watched pieces bounce across the room), diced up some canned peaches that have been in the cabinet too long because they’re store brand and the guys are picky like that. The first mess is that I started using one dish for my bread pudding and quickly decided that it wasn’t big enough. The kicker? It was one of the dishes I’d washed before I actually started cooking dinner. Actually, of all the dishes I washed before cooking, only 2 remain clean at this moment.

Let’s see. Mess number 2 is collectively this kitchen because I’m a messy cook. At least the boyfriend doesn’t mind cleaning the stove after I’ve destroyed it. Have I mentioned that he’s a PHENOMENAL cleaner?!? Yeah–he can use a vacuum like no body’s business and I’ve seen the toilet sparkle! I’m pretty good at wiping up the counters as I go along, but sometimes I get sidetracked.

Mess number 3 happened as I was typing this. I’d put the pork chops in the oven on 170 to keep them warm while I waited for the kid to get home (the boyfriend called and said he’ll be changing yet another part while at his friend’s house, so I don’t expect him home for another hour). Well, I filled the kid’s plate because the kitchen is a disaster area of only 10 ft by 10 ft, plus I was still cooking the pasta for tomorrow, but left the pork chops in the oven. Then, once everything was done and I was putting off washing the dishes by writing this, I tossed the bread pudding (which is based on this simple recipe, that I happily ad-libed ‘cuz that’s how I roll) into the oven at 350…completely forgetting about the pork chops. Luckily it dawned on me as I was writing about them and I pulled them out. They look fine. And trust me that it’s not my first time.

Oh, sorry for the lack of pictures: not only do I not take pictures of my food as a rule, my camera is broken and the boyfriend’s cell phone isn’t home and even if it were home, I still think it weird to show off the food that I’ve described. I’m not here to teach you how to cook, I’m here to entertain you with the reality of being a “working mother” (no, I don’t have kids of my own and said “kid” is only 3.5 years younger than me, but honestly these two need someone looking after them like I do…maybe one day I’ll describe the fridge/freezer and cabinet situation and other stuff…).

Well, if I wait any longer to do the dishes I won’t get them done. See you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

