Trick for eating cheaper yogurt

Posted on Updated on

I’m kind of new to the whole “eating yogurt” thing. It wasn’t something my parents bought for us when we (I have a younger brother) were kids. But since I first ate it on a whim, I’ve been happy with the taste, but not so much with the texture.

Shopping on a budget is definitely my thing. I don’t buy anything unless it’s on sale and even then, if I know there will be a better sale later I won’t buy it. Generally I won’t buy a more expensive brand if there’s an acceptable alternative for a cheaper price. Yoplait yogurt is one of these items.

When it comes to yogurt, I like it thick. The three brands of yogurt I’ve tried are Dannon (the thickest), Yoplait, and Great Value (Walmart’s storebrand which is like soup). With my dad buying Great Value it was imperative that I figure out a way to get it to the consistency that I would enjoy eating. The freezer was the obvious first choice.

I’ve been surprised to see so many posts on Pinterest enlightening people about the easy summer snack: a yogurt pop. I can’t remember the last time I ate yogurt at refrigerator temperature (except when I’ve forgotten about my frozen yogurt and it’s melted on me). While Yoplait won’t really work on a stick, it does play nicely with tough spoon. At $0.39/cup on sale, I’m one very happy camper.

Leave a Reply

